Library Guides: Architecture: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive overview of research papers from the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.This database is a great starting point for your literature searching.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934.
RIBA Library Catalogue This link opens in a new window
The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) Library is the largest and most comprehensive resource in the UK for research and information on all aspects of architecture.
CumInCAD This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
Discover technical standards legislation and technical guidance for construction industry professionals.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
Reference works, ebooks, images, designer pages, and exhibition collections.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
Fully-searchable text and image content, including ebooks and reference works.

Art, Design and Architecture Collection
Indexes current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles (usually referred to as ‘papers’). There are different types of journal paper - for example, research papers present the findings of new research, while review papers summarise or analyse the findings of multiple research papers. View the "How to read a journal article" tutorial to learn more.

How to read a journal article (tutorial)
Learn what scholarly journals are, what type of information they publish, and how to read them effectively.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

Key architecture journals include:

Architects Journal (AJ) This link opens in a new window
Architects Journal (AJ) features news, analysis and business intelligence on British architecture and design.

Architectural Design
Access one of the main peer-reviewed journals in Architecture via StarPlus.
Architectural Review
Access print copies of the magazine via StarPlus.
Architectural Research Quarterly
Access one of the main peer-reviewed journals in Architecture via StarPlus either online or in print.
The Journal of Architecture
Access one of the main peer-reviewed journals in Architecture via StarPlus.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Architecture

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Katherine

Databases

Journals