Library Guides: Bioengineering: Journals

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new engineering research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

If you’re looking for a specific journal, you can search for it in StarPlus. You can also use StarPlus as a starting point to search for individual journal articles.

StarPlus
StarPlus is the University Library's discovery system. Use StarPlus to check whether the Library holds a specific item or to discover information related to your area of research.

You can browse the journals available to you using Browzine.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers (written record of a presentation given at an academic or professional conference). Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.
MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new window
Major international database for biomedicine and healthcare literature. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, ebooks, standards and conference proceedings published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE) and its publishing partners.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medicine and health database from the US National Library of Medicine.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search engine designed to find evidence from the medical literature.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Access journals, conference proceedings and e-books published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Topics include design and manufacturing, emerging technologies, dynamic systems and control.
ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed and comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Access and search the complete content of ASM Handbooks and selected ASM Handbook supplements.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary engineering, natural science and technology collection, providing abstracts, indexing and some full-text coverage of scholarly journals, conference proceedings, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, government publications and more. Coverage is from 1946 to the present.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. Includes access to journals, ebooks and conference proceedings.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Bioengineering

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Matt

Journals

Databases