Library Guides: Digital Humanities Institute: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.
AM Explorer
Adam Matthew publishes unique primary source products for the social sciences and humanities.

Access the following digital archive collections via the AM Explorer interface:

China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980
Confidential Print: Middle East 1839-1969
Defining Gender 1450-1910
East India Company Modules I, II and III
Eighteenth Century Journals Portal Sections I, II and III
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings
Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980
Global Commodities
India, Raj and Empire
Literary Manuscripts Berg
Mass Observation Online
Migration to New Worlds Module I
Romanticism: Life, Literature and Landscape
Victorian Popular Culture Modules I, II and III

Gale Primary Sources
Use Gale Primary Sources to cross-search, analyse and visualise search results of the University of Sheffield's subscriptions to Gale historical collections and newspapers.
Gale Digital Scholar Lab
Text and data mining resources, visualization tools, and methodology suggestions to enable you to use digital humanities methodologies to explore our Gale Primary Sources collections and your own documents.

ProQuest Primary Sources
The ProQuest platform makes available A&I (abstracting and indexing) databases and full text collections, including many digital archives of newspapers and magazines covering a range of subject areas.
Digital Humanities Institute
The Digital Humanities Institute web pages.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

BrowZine Digital Humanities journals
Collection of journals related to Digital Humanities in BrowZine.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Digital Humanities Institute

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Kate

Databases

Journals