Library Guides: Materials Science and Engineering: Technical information

Technical information

Explore the platforms below to find technical information such as standards, subject specific policy or legislation and guidance.

ASM Handbooks Online
Peer-reviewed and comprehensive source of information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. Access and search the complete content of ASM Handbooks and selected ASM Handbook supplements.
ASTM Compass
Search for standards, special technical publications and manuals published by the American Society for Testing and Materials. Subjects include aerospace, biomedical, chemical, materials science, mechanical and civil engineering.

International Tables for Crystallography
Access all volumes of this reference work on crystallography and structural science.

Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
A collection of over 600,000 small-molecule organic and organometallic crystal structures that can be visualised and downloaded. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).
Chemical Availability Search (ChASe)
Searches directories of many suppliers to source your chemicals. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).
CrystalWorks
Wide range of crystallographic structural data. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).
DETHERM
One of the world's largest thermophysical databases. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).
Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD)
Database provided by FIZ Karlsruhe GmbH. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).
Propersea (Property Prediction)
Structure based prediction of physico-chemical properties and IUPAC names. Available via PSDS (Physical Sciences Data-Science Service).

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Online handbook of chemical and physical data for fields such as environmental science, bio-medical chemistry, organic and inorganic chemistry, materials innovation, geo and astrophysics, and solid-state science. Includes information on chemical names, structures, properties and laboratory safety.

British Standards Online (BSOL)
Access full text British Standards and BSI national adoptions of European and selected International Standards. Includes unadopted International Standards from ISO, and Eurocodes.
Overton
Citation database of policy documents, parliamentary transcripts, government guidance and think-tank research.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk