Library Guides: Medicine: Literature searching resources

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Multidisciplinary

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.

Medicine Specific

MEDLINE via Ovid This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s premier database for biomedical and health literature. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published worldwide.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a free resource which contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical and health literature. It includes results from MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC) and the NLM Bookshelf.
Trip Pro This link opens in a new window
Trip ('Turning research into practice') is a freely available clinical search engine designed to allow users to find and use research evidence to support their practice and care.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A freely available database containing high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Including the Cochrane Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

A-Z list of databases.
For more Medicine and Health specific resources.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Medicine

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Anthea

Databases

Multidisciplinary

Medicine Specific