Library Guides: Languages and Cultures: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.

Dutch Library Resources
A resource list containing a variety of dutch language and culture books donated to the University Library in 2018-19.
Dutch Royal Library collection of newspapers
Access the Royal Library’s collection of Dutch national, regional, local and colonial newspapers (17th to 20th).

Cambridge Dictionaries online This link opens in a new window
Free online English and bilingual dictionaries from Cambridge University Press.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Western published works relating to former Eastern Bloc countries.
Trésor de la Langue Française Informatisé This link opens in a new window
Online version of the 16-volume dictionary of the French language of the 19th and 20th centuries, which was published between 1971 and 1994.

Le Monde
Access the complete archive of Le Monde.

Online Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Aggregated links to foreign language national newspapers.
Reverso This link opens in a new window
Online dictionary offering translations in English, Spanish, French, Italian, Chinese and Russian, as well as definitions and synonyms.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Definitive index for the study of literature, language, linguistics, film and folklore.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and global news and business information in English and other languages.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Languages and Cultures

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Kate

Databases

Journals