Library Guides: Music: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.
MIDiA Research This link opens in a new window
Research intelligence platform, offering consumer survey data, market metrics and reports, which provide insights across various entertainment industry sectors.
RIdIM This link opens in a new window
Database detailing representations of music and musicians in art and imagery.
RISM This link opens in a new window
Database detailing of pre-1850 music sources preserved in libraries and archives in the UK.
Oxford Music Online / Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Access and cross-search Grove Music Online and other Oxford University Press reference content, including the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of the print encyclopedia, audio examples, musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings This link opens in a new window
Audio field recordings and interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks, slides, correspondence and ephemera from over 60 fields of study, dating from the mid-twentieth to the early twenty-first century.

Scores and music streaming

Nkoda This link opens in a new window
Digital sheet music library offering sheet music and full scores from a wide range of repertoire.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online classical music library, offering streaming access to thousands of CDs. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus titles from other labels.
IMSLP /Petrucci Music Library This link opens in a new window
Repository of public domain classical music scores and recordings.
Irish Traditional Music Archive This link opens in a new window
Recordings of Irish Traditional Music.
Barbican Song Index This link opens in a new window
Index to sheet music anthologies.
Electrotheque This link opens in a new window
Streamed access to electroacoustic music tracks.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

BrowZine Music journals
Collection of journals related to Music in BrowZine.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Music

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Kate

Databases

Databases

Scores and music streaming

Journals