Library Guides: Philosophy: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering all subjects. Use it to search millions of online journal papers, conference proceedings and other publications.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The IEP is a scholarly online encyclopaedia, dealing with philosophy, philosophical topics, and philosophers.

Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of books from the scholarly lists of Oxford University Press.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Open access online reference work covering all aspects of philosophy.
Past Masters This link opens in a new window
Full text electronic editions in philosophy. Includes complete or collected works of philosophers such as Aristotle, Nietzsche and Wittgenstein.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new Philosphy research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

BrowZine Philosophy journals
Collection of journals related to Philosophy in BrowZine.
PhilonoUS : undergraduate journal of philosophy
PhilonoUS is the student-led undergraduate philosophy academic journal for The University of Sheffield. It was founded in 2016.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Philosophy

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Kate

Databases

Journals