Library Guides: Politics and International Relations: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive overview of research papers from the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.This database is a great starting point for your literature searching.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes hundreds of international journals and periodicals from 1987 onwards.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new scientific research. They contain articles (usually referred to as 'papers'). There are different types of journal paper - for example, research papers present the findings of new research, while review papers summarise or analyse the findings of multiple research papers. View the "How to read a journal article" tutorial to learn more:

How to read a journal article (tutorial)
Learn what scholarly journals are, what type of information they publish, and how to read them effectively.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Politics and International Relations

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Katherine

Databases

Journals