Library Guides: Sociological Studies: Databases and journals

Key databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive overview of research papers from the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities.This database is a great starting point for your literature searching.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes hundreds of international journals and periodicals from 1987 onwards.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.

Further databases

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Includes bibliographic references to journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Its broad coverage includes anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, and is international in scope.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. Includes journal articles, books and dissertations from 1952 onwards.
Anthropological Index Online This link opens in a new window
Anthropological Index Online (AIO) is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute (RAI) in cooperation with the Anthropology Library and Research Centre at the British Museum. It is an index to articles in journals taken by the Anthropology Library and Research Centre and to films held at the Royal Anthropological Institute. Records cover 1957 to the present.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Search international literature in psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences from 1806 to the present.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

How to read a journal article (tutorial)
View this tutorial to learn more about what scholarly journals are, what type of information they publish, and how to read them effectively.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Sociological Studies

Library Help

Your Liaison Librarian is Katherine

Key databases

Further databases

Journals