Library Guides: Education: Databases and journals

Databases

Databases are search tools designed to help you explore scholarly literature such as journal articles and conference papers. Most databases allow you to sort, filter, save and export your results.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers a comprehensive overview of international research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus is updated daily and includes abstracts and cited references from journal titles from thousands of international publishers.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Discover literature on primary, secondary, and higher education as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
British Education Index This link opens in a new window
Information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK. Some international literature is included.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes hundreds of international journals and periodicals from 1987 onwards.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary research platform which enables simultaneous cross-searching of a range of citation indexes and databases.

Journals

Journals are published on a regular basis to showcase new research. They contain articles written on a particular subject area and present new findings.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A tool which enables you to browse, read and monitor current scholarly journal content on your mobile device, laptop or desktop.

library@sheffield.ac.uk 0114 222 7200 libraryhelp.shef.ac.uk

Education

Library Help

Your Faculty Librarian is Iona

Databases

Journals