History

Access to a vast collection of primary source documents from the India Office Records held by the British Library covering the period from before the Company's charter in 1600 to Indian independence in 1947.

Archive collection of primary documents on the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and journals spanning four centuries and 15 languages.

Discover primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Sourced from almost one hundred major world libraries.

Fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.

Archive of digitised materials for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The archive includes a significant amount of digitised material from the National Fairground and Circus Archive.

Discover the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the British Empire and the nineteenth-century world.

Manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland exploring the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.

Access to full-text transcriptions of 4,800 letters by the South African feminist, socialist writer and social theorist Olive Schreiner (1855-1920).

A comprehensive, scholarly synopsis of 15,000 articles relating to science, technology, and medicine which appeared in 16 general periodicals published in Britain between 1800 and 1900.

Keyword index to 19th century English periodicals and newspapers. It covers over 27,000 titles and can also be searched by place of publication, issuing body, and personal names.