East Asian Studies

The largest and continuously updated Chinese journals database in the world. Coverage is from 1951 onwards with some journals dating back to their first issue.

Provides access to legal materials from the People's Republic of China.

Comprehensive bilingual dictionaries for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980.

From the World Bank Group.

Repository of the nation's publications and a national centre for the preservation and conservation of ancient books.

Open Access Repository hosting over 700 journal titles sponsored by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences.

Online open-access digital library of pre-modern Chinese texts with over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters. Both English and modern Chinese translations are provided (where copyright allows).

Biographical information for about approximately 370,000 individuals as of April 2017, primarily from the 7th through 19th centuries in China.

Digitised and preserved collections of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911).

Chinese Digital Collections & Projects from the University of Pittsburgh's East Asian Library.

Digital Harvard-Yenching Library Collections at Harvard University.

Political communication and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China.

An alternative vision of China and its history through the eyes of the people who love photography.

Digitised collections about Hong Kong initiated by the HKU Libraries.

BLDHO is an online resource providing information and materials from the drafting history of Hong Kong's constitution.

Academia Historica is the nation's highest institute studying the ROC's and Taiwan's history.

The section of 學術資源檢索 (research resources searching) is the platform to search and browse a collection of rich historical material, within which some are digitised and open access.

The People's Daily is the biggest newspaper group in China.

The People's Daily is the biggest newspaper group in China.

Hong Kong’s internationally recognised English language newspaper with the city’s most affluent and influential readership.

Open Access to Jiefang Daily, Wenhui Daily and Xinmin Evening News, three premier newspapers in Shanghai as well other newspapers and publications.

The official English-language electronic communication platform of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China.

2017 NPC and CPPCC Annual Sessions (两会) reports and documents in English.

Information and news on top Chinese leaders and officials, China’s key domestic and foreign policies, and the English scripts of press conferences and white papers.

Up-to-date news about China, with searchable texts of government position papers.

Open access to global development data.

Chinese economic, development and census statistics.

Open Data from the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

A research network, dedicated to studying, but not limited to, China’s capital Beijing.

A collection of data layers for browsing online as web maps, many of which can be freely downloaded.

A free database of place names and historical administrative units for the Chinese Dynasties.

With MARKUS you can upload a file in classical Chinese and tag personal names, place names, temporal references, and bureaucratic offices automatically.