East Asian Studies

Japan Knowledge is an online archive offering encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan.

Database of the 朝日新聞, one of Japan's oldest and largest national daily newspapers, with full text searching from 1879 to the present.
It includes AERA and 週間朝日, two leading weekly magazines as well as 現代用語事典 知恵蔵 .

Includes digital and searchable scans of all pages published in The Japan Times between 1897 and 2019.

One of five national newspapers in Japan, a centre-left, liberal newspaper published daily.

One of five national newspapers in Japan, a centre-right, conservative newspaper published daily.

English-language newspaper publishing news from Japan.

Online archive of news broadcasts from 1940-1951 shown in cinemas around Japan.

Japanese catalogue of Japanese and Japan-related information on academic articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or articles.

Online database of papers and reports for Japanese government.

Online database of research papers in Japanese language and linguistics.

Online database of resources related to Japanese history.

Online database of information about local history in Japan and yearbooks of local history literature.

Online electronic journal platform for science and technology information in Japan, developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST).

The Digital Library from the National Diet Library of Japan covers a wide range of scholarly journals, ebooks, archived newspapers, doctoral theses and government documents.

Online collection of Japanese language open-access resources.

Online database of biographies, research on Japanese literature and works.

Online collection of Japanese poetry, essays, novels and critical works.

Online database service that lets you search for information on dissertations written for doctoral degrees in Japan conferred by Japanese Universities and the National Institute for Academic Degrees and Quality Enhancement of Higher Education.

Partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Collection of links to useful English websites and resources pertaining to Japanese studies and humanities in Japan.

Database that collects and provides metadata of resources registered at academic and institutional repositories in Japan.

Digital archive of Asian historical records with a focus on those pertaining to Japan’s modern relations with other countries.

Selection of useful websites about Japan.

Digital collection of early Japanese animations from the National Film Center.

List of links to websites relevant to the legal structure of Japan, along with some general fact websites about Japan.

Database of Japanese manga.

Website of the National Museum of Ethnology, with links to contemporary research, a database of ethnographic work.

Collection of links to Japan-related materials on the internet with a focus on academically relevant resources.

Data Catalogue Site of the Japanese Government.

Digital collection of research on labour conducted by JILPT.

Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

It provides access to a range of research and statistical data relating to finance and the economy of Japan.

Portal site of official statistics of Japan.

Official website of the Statistics Bureau of the Japanese Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication, with a collection of statistical data about Japan.

Collection of useful links to pages from Japanese government on economics, society, industry, labour, education and sport.